Faith Depuydt

FaithDepuydt
Faith Depuydt

Site/Position:  Southwest Minnesota State University (SMSU) and Healthy 56258

Hometown:  Eagle Lake, MN which is a small town just outside of Mankato, MN

Education:  Bachelor of Science in Exercise Science from Southwest Minnesota State University (SMSU)

A learning or work experience that changed me:  A work experience that changed me was being an area director at a Boy Scout summer camp in Crosslake, MN.  Not only did it give me a passion for working with youth, it gave me the opportunity to take on more responsibilities than I had at any previous employment.  I was in charge of teaching the campers how to safely climb, rappel, and belay man-made rock surfaces.  Preparing adolescence to perform these tasks required a certain level of maturity from everyone involved.  Knowing that my role positively influenced hundreds of youth by giving them the opportunity to face their fears, rely on others, and work as a team has changed me.  It has shown me how influential each and every one of us can be.

Why did you choose to serve as an AmeriCorps VISTA with College Health Corps?  I picked my path of education because I want to help others with their health and wellness.  Exercise is a major factor in health and can have life changing effects such as lowering blood pressure, preventing the diagnoses of diabetes, and decreasing the risk of heart disease. Serving as an AmeriCorps VISTA with College Health Corps will allow me to use my degree and be more involved in my community.  I have been involved in my college community at SMSU and now I can continue my involvement in the Marshall area.  Once I started helping out, I haven’t wanted to quit.  There is something satisfying about being involved in an organization where everyone is working towards a common goal, a healthier community.

Three words that best describe me:  Innovative, straightforward, reliable

Place I would most like to visit:  Florence, Italy to view artwork such as Botticelli’s “The Birth of Venus,” Michelangelo’s “David,” and the Florence Cathedral.

One thing I can’t live without:  Creative outlets.  I have found that leisure activities involving the creation of something, whether that being an idea or a sound or a physical item, gives me a joy that cannot be achieved any other way.  My world would be pretty plain without it.

Hobbies:  Observing wildlife, visiting state parks, photography, violinist, knitting

In 5 years I would like to be:  In 5 years I would like to be attending graduate school and working towards my PhD in Exercise Physiology.  I imagine myself being married or engaged by then and having lived in a different state (so far I have only lived in Minnesota).