Seven Minnesota Students Selected as Principal Community Scholars

November 20, 2017

Seven students at MNCC member institutions are among the 25 students from Iowa, Minnesota, and Wisconsin selected for the 2018 class of Principal Community Scholars:

Sumayo Saed – Augsburg University
Kapono Asuncion – St. Catherine University
Dharma Lemoine Tennat – St. Catherine University
Erin Nelsen – St. Catherine University
Sharla Boyer – South Central College
Marisa Winters – Southwest Minnesota State University
Rachel Mortvedt – University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

Students are nominated by faculty or staff from their respective institutions and undergo a rigorous review process. Selected students will receive a $1,000 scholarship upon completion of a community-based experiential learning project.

This year’s scholars proposed projects designed to engage their peers and their institutions. The Minnesota projects tap into a variety of skills that can be offered by college students and focus on a wide range of issues including interfaith dialogue, food security, nonpartisan political engagement, neighborhood vitality, mentoring and leadership. Click here to learn more about each Principal Community Scholar’s individual project.

Campus Compact and Principal Announce Class of Community Scholars