2016 Minnesota Campus Compact Presidents’ Awards

April 12, 2016

Pres-Award-Blog-Post-ImageCongratulations to the 2016 MNCC Presidents’ awardees! Each year Minnesota Campus Compact invites member presidents and chancellors to give statewide recognition to civic engagement leaders in three categories. View the full program, including more information about each award recipient.

Presidents’ Student Leadership Award

This award is for an individual student or a student organization that models a deep commitment to civic responsibility and leadership, evidenced by initiative, innovative, and collaborative approaches to addressing public issues, effective community building, and integration of civic engagement into the college experience.

  • Oscar Martinez, Augsburg College
  • Brittany Hull, Bemidji State University
  • Chloe Johnson, Bethel College
  • Hannah Nayowith, Carleton College
  • Theresa Farrell, College of St. Benedict
  • Cecile (Ceci) Lewis, Concordia University – St. Paul
  • Fair Trade Gustavus Co-Chairs Hayley Nemmers & Abby Nistler, Gustavus Adolphus College
  • Sofia White, Hamline University
  • Oscar Corral, Inver Hills Community College
  • James Meyerson, Macalester College
  • Felicia Hamilton-Clark, Minneapolis Community & Technical College
  • Metropolitan State Student Senate, Metropolitan State University
  • Muni Abdi, Normandale Community College
  • Beau Foshee, Northwestern Health Sciences University
  • Marlee Mfalingundi, St. Catherine University
  • Ayubowan Sri Lanka Student Organization (ASLO), St. Cloud State University
  • Edwin Torres, Saint John’s University
  • Sarah Anderson, Saint Mary’s University
  • Megan Jekot, St. Olaf College
  • ENACTUS, Southwest Minnesota State University
  • Mike Bergman, University of Minnesota Rochester
  • Kyle Klausing, University of Minnesota, Morris
  • Mariana Morgan-Sawyer, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • Fellowship of Reconciling Cultures Everywhere (FORCE), University of Northwestern — St. Paul
  • Molly Amundson, University of St. Thomas
  • Joshua Hanson, Winona State University

Presidents’ Community Partner Award

This award is for a community-based organization that has enhanced the quality of life in the community in meaningful and measurable ways and has engaged in the development of sustained, reciprocal partnerships with the college or university, thus enriching educational as well as community outcomes.

  • Sisterhood Boutique, Yasameen Sajady, Augsburg College
  • Mike Givins, Bethel College
  • TORCH (Tackling Obstacles Raising College Hopes), Northfield High School, Carleton College
  • Anna Marie’s Alliance, College of St. Benedict
  • Little Africa – Gene Gelegulu, Concordia University – St. Paul
  • Jane Timmerman, Gustavus Adolphus College
  • Mark Ireland, Hamline University
  • Nichole Menard, Biological Science Technician, Inver Hills Community College
  • Derek Johnson, Macalester College
  • VJ Smith, Minneapolis Community and Technical College
  • InProgress – Kristine Sorenson, Executive Director, Metropolitan State University
  • Stefan Van Voorst, North Hennepin Community College
  • Diana Dalsin, Normandale Community College
  • United Way of Central Minnesota, Saint John’s University
  • Missing Voices Conference, Saint Mary’s University
  • Emily Deavers, Redwood River, Mentoring and Monitoring, Keystone Community Services, Southwest Minnesota State University
  • Paul & Sue Westmark, St. Cloud State University
  • Greenvale Park Community School, Erin Bailey, Northfield Public School, St. Olaf University
  • Muriel Kruzemark, University of Minnesota , Morris
  • Stacy Sundve, Vicky Kramer, Peter Giesen, Olmsted County Public Health, University of Minnesota Rochester
  • Banaadir Academy, Brady Fossenbell, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • Urban Ventures: ActSix Urban Scholar & Leadership Program, Marquise Dixon, University of Northwestern — St. Paul
  • Hope Medical Clinic, Uganda, Charles Lugemwa, University of St. Thomas
  • Gunderson Health System, Winona State University

Presidents’ Civic Engagement Steward Award

This award is for a member of the faculty, administration, or staff or for a group (e.g., advisory committee, task force, project team) that has significantly advanced their campus’ distinctive civic mission by forming strong partnerships, supporting others’ civic engagement, and working to institutionalize a culture and practice of engagement.

  • Augsburg College Nursing Department, Augsburg College
  • Harley Schreck, Bethel College
  • Pamela Feldman-Savelsberg, Carleton College
  • Mary Vukelich, Century College
  • Brandyn Woodard, College of St. Benedict
  • David Woodard, Concordia University St. Paul
  • Angelique Dwyer, Gustavus Adolphus College
  • Jim Scheibel, Hamline University
  • Jessie Headrick, on IHCC Foundation Board, Inver Hills Community College
  • Professor Michael Zis, Macalester College
  • Curt Schmidt, Minneapolis Community and Technical College
  • Dr. Nadarajan Sethuraju, Metropolitan State University
  • David Rayson, Normandale Community College
  • Kelly Berg, Saint John’s University
  • BUDDIES, Saint Mary’s University
  • Jon Morgan, South Central College
  • Martin Luther King Week of Service & Civic Engagement, Southwest Minnesota State University
  • Lisa Marien, St. Catherine University
  • Dr. Sheila Moriarty, St. Cloud State University
  • Diane Angell, St. Olaf College
  • Tammy Berberi, University of Minnesota, Morris
  • Jessie Barnett, University of Minnesota Rochester
  • Dr. Catherine Solheim, Associate Professor, Family Social Service, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • Jeff Snyder, University of Northwestern — St. Paul
  • The Reverend Dennis Dease, University of St. Thomas
  • Dr. Ruth Charles, Winona State University