National Campus Compact Awards

Newman Civic Fellows Award

Each year Campus Compact presents awards for exceptional work in the field of civic engagement in higher education.  The Newman Civic Fellows Award honors inspiring college student leaders who have demonstrated their investment in finding solutions to the challenges that face our communities throughout the country. Each president and chancellor can nominate one student to become a Newman Civic Fellow who will then represent your school in a national group of student leaders. Students will receive an award certificate and an invitation to join the Newman Civic Fellows online network and national conference.

Nominations for the 2019 Newman Civic Fellows Award are due February 1, 2019. 

Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award 

The Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award recognizes one faculty member each year for exemplary engaged scholarship, including leadership in advancing students’ civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, building institutional commitments to service-learning and civic engagement, and other means of enhancing higher education’s contributions to the public good.

Past recipients and finalists for this prestigious national award from Minnesota include:

  • Andrew Furco, University of Minnesota (2012 recipient)
  • Stephen Philion, St. Cloud State University (2012 finalist)
  • Joan Francioni, Winona State University (2010 finalist)
  • Jean Strait, Hamline University (2008 finalist)
  • John Wallace, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities (2000 recipient)
  • James Farr, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities (1999 finalist)
  • Garry Hesser, Augsburg College (1998 recipient)

Nominations were due May 31, 2018.