Advancing Higher Education’s Democratic Purpose

In celebration of Campus Compact’s 30th anniversary, presidents and chancellors from the network and Campus Compact staff together have created an action statement that articulates what we must do–as individual campuses and collectively–to meet the challenges of our moment. After 28 presidents and chancellors gathered to discuss the national statement in January, 2016, the Minnesota Campus Compact board also approved a complementary Minnesota statement drawing on the group’s reflections. 
We encourage MNCC presidents and chancellors to become signatories here. Other supporting organizations may also endorse the statement here. This reflects the most recent signatory list published by the national Campus Compact:
  • Ron Anderson, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System
  • Virginia Arthur, Metropolitan State University
  • Adenuga Olatunde Atewologun, Riverland Community College
  • Michelle Behr (and earlier Jacqueline Johnson), University of Minnesota, Morris
  • Anne E. Blackhurst, Minnesota State University Moorhead
  • Christopher Cassirer, Northwestern Health Sciences University
  • William J. Craft, Concordia College
  • Alan S. Cureton, University of Northwestern-St. Paul
  • Joyce E. Ester, Normandale Community College
  • Terry B. Gaalswyk, Minnesota West Community and Technical College
  • Connie J. Gores, Southwest Minnesota State University
  • Richard A. Hanson, Bemidji State University and Northwest Technical College
  • Michael Hemesath, Saint John’s University
  • Mary Dana Hinton, College of Saint Benedict
  • Mary Holz-Clause (and earlier Fred E. Wood), University of Minnesota, Crookston
  • Eric W. Kaler, University of Minnesota
  • Stephen W. Lehmkuhle, University of Minnesota Rochester
  • Brother William Mann, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota
  • Barbara J. McDonald, North Hennepin Community College
  • Fayneese Miller, Hamline University
  • Scott Robert Olson, Winona State University
  • Annette Parker, South Central College
  • Sharon J. Pierce (and earlier Avelino Mills-Novoa), Minneapolis Community and Technical College
  • Paul Pribbenow, Augsburg College
  • Thomas Ries, Concordia University-St. Paul
  • Rebecca Koenig Roloff, St. Catherine University
  • Brian C. Rosenberg, Macalester College
  • Julie H. Sullivan, University of St. Thomas
  • Asish K. Vaidya (and earlier Earl H. Potter III), St. Cloud State University
  • Tim A. Wynes, Inver Hills Community College and Dakota County Technical College

(See a related opinion piece by Stephen Lehmkuhle, chancellor of the University of Minnesota Rochester, and Scott Olson, president of Winona State University, in the Rochester Post Bulletin here.)

This summer, we offered many regional one-day civic action planning institutes, working with 22 campus teams to begin developing their civic action plans. The national Campus Compact will also be developing online “knowledge hubs” to support campuses developing a Civic Action Plan that reflects their own institutional context and the shared civic commitments in the action statement. If your campus would be interested in hosting an institutes — or if you have any questions about this work — please contact Julie.